My book reviews

Displaced by J. F. Jenkins.

thumb_IMG_0588_1024

Blurb…

Chevelle Donahue thought going into work would be just like any other boring day at the mall. Sure, there was her annoying co-worker Wicken Sanders, and a promotional visit from teen heartthrob Timber Hudson, to watch and keep her entertained. But who was she kidding? Working retail was lame no matter what happened.

A terrorist attack changes everything – an attack from aliens of all things. The patrons are given two options: comply or else. Complying means giving in to a new set of rules and changing her entire life. “Or else” means she has no chance of going home again.

She must figure out the truth behind why the aliens are holding everyone hostage. In doing so, she risks her chance at freedom – but by the time she learns what’s really happening, she might not want it.

My Review…

This book wasn’t the type of book I would normally read but once I stuck to it, I wasn’t disappointed. This book has made me want to read more outside of my comfort zone and I’m grateful for that, was totally worth the read.

Chevelle’s thoughts.

The Irrational girl part of me wanted to curl up with a gallon of cookie dough ice cream. Eating myself sick wasn’t going to make any of my problems go away, though.

Justice and Chevelle’s talk.

“What?” I asked, when I noticed his gaze was still hovering on me. “Do I got something on my face?”

Chevelle’s thoughts.

Don’t shoot the messenger, or something along those lines.

The song that suits this book is “Hold It Against Me by Britany Spears.”

I rate this book 3.5 stars.

Leave a comment