My book reviews

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover.

thumb_IMG_1117_1024

Blurb…

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

 

My Review…

This book was full of hype, great reviews and everyone who read it fell in love with it. In my case, that wasn’t exactly true. Don’t get me wrong I totally enjoyed reading this book, well any book by Colleen that is. But with ‘It Ends With Us’, I had too many emotions to comprehend what I was actually feeling. I can’t stop thinking about the relationship between Ryle, Lily and Atlas, so much emotions was poured into this novel and I have to thank Colleen for that. I may not have been thrilled with how the novel finished but I know I am at peace with it.

Lily and Ryle.

“I don’t think being a little guarded is a negative thing.” I say, “Naked truths aren’t always pretty.”
He stares at me for a moment. “Naked truths,” he repeats. “I like that.”

Ryle to Lilly.

“She won’t talk about Jesus. She already loves you, based on what I’ve told her. All you have to do is be you, Lily.”I start nodding. “Be me. Okay. I think I can pretend to be me for one evening. Right?”

Lily and her mum.

A tear falls from her eye when she says, “Be that girl, Lily. Brave and bold.”

The song that suits this book is ‘ I Love You Always Forever by Betty Who.’

I rate this book 4.5 stars.

Leave a Reply

